ARIZONA 2010 LEGISLATION

HB 2063

Establishes maximum building permit fees for solar energy system construction permits for cities, towns and counties.

Sponsor: Representative Tom Boone (R – Peoria)

Status: Introduced Jan. 13, 2010.

HB 2241

Allows qualified producers of renewable energy to receive up to a \$2 million tax credit on the electricity they produce for up to ten years and limits the total amount of credits issued each year to \$20 million in any given year.

Sponsors: Representatives John McComish (R – Phoenix), Lucy Mason (R – Prescott), Cecil Ash (R – Mesa), Tom Boone (R – Peoria), Olivia Cajero Bedford (D – Tucson), Tom Chabin (D – Flagstaff), Christopher Deschene (D – St. Michaels), Doris Goodale (R – Lake Havasu City), Eric Meyer (D – Phoenix), John Nelson (R – Glendale), Lynne Pancrazi (D – Yuma) Status: Introduced Jan. 19, 2010.

HB 2502

Provides for the valuation for utility-scale solar plants in the same manner as agricultural property.

Sponsor: Representative Rick Murphy (R – Glendale)

Status: Passed House March 4, 2010 and Senate April 28, 2010; vetoed.

HB 2574

Allows qualified producers of renewable energy to receive up to a \$2 million tax credit on the electricity they produce for up to ten years and limits the total amount of credits issued each year to \$20 million in any given year.

Sponsors: Representatives Lucy Mason (R – Prescott), Tom Boone (R – Peoria), Chad Campbell (D – Phoenix), Russell Jones (R – Yuma), Bill Konopnicki (R – Safford), Warde Nichols (R – Gilbert), Michele Reagan (R – Scottsdale)

Status: Passed House March 3, 2010.

HB 2700

Delays the termination of the prime contracting transaction privilege tax (TPT) exemption and the individual and corporate income tax credits for the installation of solar energy devices for commercial or industrial use by six years (to 2018).

Sponsor: Representative Tom Boone (R – Peoria)

Status: Governor signed May 10, 2010.